Gloria Estefan and 23 Others Nominated for Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame

Categories: News


Now in its sophomore year, Miami Beach's Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced its 2014 nominees.

In all, this latest class counts 24 singers-songwriters and composers who represent, in LSHOF members' estimation, "the greatest Latin talents from all over the world in every genre. "

Among the shortlisted: Miami's own Cuban pop queen Gloria Estefan, Spanish nueva canción icon Joan Manuel Serrat, Guatemalan pop-rocker Ricardo Arjona, Panamanian singer and actor Rubén Blades, and Puerto Rican-American salsero Willie Colón.

Ultimately, only a small group will be selected for induction into the Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame, alongside 2013 honorees like Julio Iglesias and José Feliciano.

Check the cut for the LSHOF's full list of 2014 nominees.

See also: Miami's Six Best Latin Clubs


Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame 2014 Nominees

-Alberto Cortez (Argentina)
-Roberto Carlos (Brazil)
-Gloria Estefan (Cuba)
-Álvaro Torres (El Salvador)
-Joan Manuel Serrat (Spain)
-Ricardo Arjona (Guatemala)
-Juan Gabriel (México)
-Rubén Blades (Panamá)
-Gian Marco (Perú)
-Willie Colón (Puerto Rico)
-Juan Luis Guerra (Dominican Republic)
-Franco De Vita (Venezuela)

-Robert Livi (Argentina)
-Lalo Schifrin (Argentina)
-Héctor Ochoa Cárdenas (Colombia)
-Jorge Luis Piloto (Cuba)
-Alejandro Jaén (Spain)
-Rafael Pérez Botija (Spain)
-Rubén Fuentes (México)
-Lolita De La Colina (México)
-Omar Alfanno (Panamá)
-Johnny Ortiz (Puerto Rico)
-Rafael Solano (Dominican Republic)
-José Enrique "Chelique" Sarabia (Venezuela)

Voting for the Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame's 2014 inductees is open to all LSHOF members, and it ends on April 27. Membership is free. Visit

Follow Crossfade on Facebook and Twitter @Crossfade_SFL.

Sponsor Content

My Voice Nation Help

Now Trending

Miami Concert Tickets

From the Vault