Seven Local Authors at Miami Book Fair International You Should Know

Categories: Around Town
hedy_goldsmith.jpg
Hedy Goldsmith
Miami is home to the number one basketball team in the world, fame hungry reality stars, models, and acclaimed visual artists. But what many of us fail to realize is that Miami is also home to several authors, many of which are Pulitzer Prize winners, bestsellers, and established professors. We don't hear enough about these authors and it's a damn shame.

The 29th annual Miami Book Fair International started this past Sunday, November 11, welcoming 300 nationally and internationally renowned authors to Miami-Dade College for a weeklong non-stop schedule of reading workshops and presentations. And while much has been made of big names in this year's lineup (Tom Wolfe, Junot Diaz, etc.), the Miami-based talent is just as worthy of praise.

See also:
- Junot Diaz on Writing Men, Stories as Art, and Star Wars
- A Geek's Guide to the Miami Book Fair International
- The Sexiest Events at Miami Book Fair International: Game of Thrones Erotica and More

Check out a few of our favorite local writers after the jump.

DaveBarry.jpg
Dave Barry
1. Dave Barry
Barry was a syndicated columnist for over 25 years and his work has appeared in more than 500 newspapers in the United States and abroad. The man was once pronounced by The New York Times as "the funniest man in America," so you can take their word for it.

The Book: The Pulitzer Prize-winning humorist Dave Barry teamed up with Thurber Prize-winner and SNL writer, Alan Zweibel in Lunatics: A Novel, a comic mystery where the world of two New Jersey suburban dads collide in a swiftly escalating series of events that will send them running for their lives, chased by the police, soldiers, terrorists, subversives, bears, and even a man dressed as Chuck E. Cheese.
Event: "Dave Barry on Lunatics and Seth Reiss and Will Tracy on The Onion Book of Known Knowledge"
When and Where: Saturday, November 17, 10 a.m., Chapman Conference Center (Building 3, 2nd Floor, Room 3210)
Who Should Go: Fans of Comedy Central and Saturday Night Live

jj_colagrande.jpg
J.J. Colagrande
2. J.J. Colagrande
Colagrande is a contributor for the Miami Herald, Miami New Times, 944, Closer, and the Sun-Sentinel. He also works as an Adjunct Professor at Miami Dade College where he currently teaches Writing and Literature.

The Book: In his novel Decò, Colagrande takes a satirical stab at the Magic City. Decò is a writer living the typical Miami life, living in a condo and dating a model. When the real estate market crashes and he quickly loses it all, Decò is forced to move to the art haven of Wynwood, where he seeks the success he has always felt he deserved.
Event: "A Miami Picaresque: J.J. Colagrande on Decò and Yousi Mazpule on Jinetera: Story of a Cuban Prostitute"
When and Where: Sunday, November 18, 4:30 p.m., Room 8316 (Building 8, 3rd Floor)
Who Should Go: Those who can actually relate to Decò and can't believe someone actually wrote a book that hits so close to home. C'mon, we know you're out there.


Location Info

Michael's Genuine Food & Drink

130 NE 40th St., Miami, FL

Category: Restaurant

My Voice Nation Help
0 comments

Now Trending

Miami Concert Tickets

From the Vault

 

Loading...