Five Best Gluten-Free Beers for the Gluten-Intolerant Beer Snob
Gluten intolerance manifests itself in a variety of diseases, including celiac disease. It prohibits sufferers from enjoying the finest food and drink. Luckily, beer doesn't have to be on this list.
Whether gluten intolerance is becoming more prevalent or everyone suffers from it to some extent, awareness is definitely increasing. The good news is that gluten-free beers are readily available. The bad news is that choices are fairly limited.
Anything less than 20 parts per million of gluten is safe to drink for someone who is intolerant. Some gluten-free beers are made from buckwheat, some are made from sorghum, or any combination of sorghum, rice millet, and buckwheat.
Buckwheat is more akin to rhubarb than to wheat. It can be used like barley to produce a malt for making beer, but without the gluten.
Sorghum is a species of grain-producing grass that is cultivated in warmer climates throughout the world and is a staple for many poor families in these regions. Sorghum halepense, or Johnsongrass, is classified as an invasive species by the United States Department of Agriculture. It just so happens that it also makes a tasty beer.